Since Doctor Who first started when I was little I was always a big fan. However, only recently have I been comfortable to consider myself a Whovian. I'm sure people will empathise when I say that I can't really talk about the things I love most at school because being a Whovian also makes you a nerd, which is something that has negative connotations, for whatever reason. No one at my school quite understands it; they all know I really like Doctor Who, that's obvious from my school bag and the fact that sometimes I just have to talk about it, but they don't quite get the extent. And I don't want them to know either.
The reason why I feel I haven't always been able to consider myself a Whovian is because of this isolation amongst my friends at school. Fortunately, after creating an account a few years ago and abandoning it, I took up Twitter again and have found it to be a sanctuary where I can express my love for things that my followers also love. 
Twitter has allowed me to become a part of a fandom that I adore. I don't feel judged for anything I say, people understand where I'm coming from when I have a fangirl moment. Some people might think it's weird that I talk to so many people I've never met, as if all 500 (nearly!) of my followers are really old men hoping to groom me. But some of the people I talk to on Twitter I consider friends, just as much as I would consider people at school my friend. The only difference is, I feel I can be my 100% true self on Twitter. I might act like the chatty, hyper person that I am with my school friends, but my interests are just different to theirs, putting up a big wall between us, which leads me to sit on my own at school with my iPod, on Twitter, talking to people who understand me. 
Like my sister, you may feel sorry for me, that I resort to sitting on my own on my iPod rather than talking to my friends in the room with me, but whilst the topic in the room is something trivial that I don't really care for, or they're being immature and generally annoying, Twitter is a little world where I can escape and be content. 
Twitter, and the people on it, have allowed me to come out of my little Doctor Who fan shell and become a proud Whovian and Sherlockian. I didn't understand fandoms before I was a part of one and now I can't imagine my life without it. 
The lovely people on Twitter have helped me through some rough times. I can tell them things I can't tell anyone else. And it's just a wonderful community where everyone gets on, no matter how old or what corner of the Earth they come from. To me, it's like a dream. If all the people on my Twitter lived in my town, went to my school, I would honestly have the best life anyone could have.

I want to say a huge thank you to the people on Twitter. You've helped me through some difficult times with school, people, and other problems I've had. You've helped me to become the person I am today, able to express my true feelings about things that I previously got stick for. I adore every single one of you, and there's a small group of people (they should know who they are) who I've come to see as true friends and who, even thought I haven't met them, have become an important part of my life and I'm so glad I've come to know them.

I also met two girls from Twitter at Memorabilia, which was so insanely lovely! It was so great to put a face to the username, even if it was only a brief encounter. 
I hope I can meet a lot more of my friends on Twitter. You've all become a valuable part of my life and shaping me 

GalifreyGirl (Jess)
4/2/2012 12:01:08 am

I think this is an amazing post, and I agree with it completely, especially the feeling accepted by twitter people (tweeps, is it? :L) and not being judged - infact people practically encourage fan-girling and such on Twitter! And it was insanely nice to meet you too by the way!
x

Reply
9/10/2012 04:09:09 am

After a long time I got something fresh and quality content on related topic. I searched a lot for the related material but got almost replica work. Keep it up! It is really very informative.

Reply
9/17/2012 05:09:58 am

I must say this is a great post. I have read your last two blog posts on the same topic, those were excellent too. Keep it up and keep posting blogs on related matter.

Reply



Leave a Reply.