The final episode of Sherlock series 2, 'The Reichenbach Fall', was brilliant. You cannot deny the brilliance of Moffat, Gatiss, and Thompson on that one. It was an utter masterpiece. The end of it though, as we all know, has provoked a lot of discussion, to say the least. I would like to go through certain points of interest and potential theories of how the genius Sherlock survived his own suicide.

Firstly, the little screaming girl. When Sherlock enters the room to talk to the little girl she points and screams in horror, as if Sherlock was the kidnapper. This immediately made me think of the original story, The Silk Stocking, where girls were murdered. They thought they found the guy, but the fingerprints didn't match. Sherlock walked the guy out the police station, but past a victim that survived. The girl pointed and screamed at this man who had just been proved innocent. Turned out they were identical twins. The fingerprints belonged to his brother and they had worked together.

Secondly (and importantly), Molly. The conversation he had with Molly towards the end, "I need you", remember? That is key.

Thirdly, the man on the bike. The guy who knocked Watson over as he ran over to Sherlock. He got knocked at the perfect time, he didn't see the 'splat' moment, and it was a few seconds before he came to realisation. My theory is that Sherlock asked whoever that was to knock him over at that time to hide his survival.

Fourthly, the truck. Now, I think it was a rubbish truck, it looked like it. Whatever kind of truck it was though, it moved JUST as Watson ran over to Sherlock's body. Had Sherlock jumped into the truck, bloodied himself and managed to stop his heartbeat using some method (which can be done, watch Derren Brown)?? Or did he have another body that he swapped over in the truck. I'd say, Was it really Sherlock and Watson only saw Sherlock because that's what his concussed head would have expected to see, but the newspaper said it was Sherlock that died. So I think the Derren Brown magic is more likely there.

Ermm....I think that's it. OH!! Wait.

Fithly, and finally, IOU. There has to be more behind that. I don't know what, but that hasn't been properly explained.

And whether Moriarty is actually dead or not as well, I don't know. I'd love him to be alive.

I'd love for you to share your theories, or if I've made a mistake somewhere, please point that out, or, if you agree with me, tell me!! 

8)




Leave a Reply.